h1

Vegetarian Chili With Turkey

January 30, 2009

It’s not vegetarian if it has turkey in it, is it?  Well, here’s the story.  I was dying for chili after making Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins for a Tuesdays With Dorie assignment. A lot of the bakers made chili to go with their muffins and all the chili talk got me wondering why I haven’t made it in a while. Well, the answer is that the recipe I have is a pain in the butt to make.  So I sought out a new recipe to try and decided on Happy Tummy’s Vegetarian Chili.  I followed that recipe but also browned a package (20 oz) of ground turkey and added it to the slow cooker with the rest of the ingredients.  So there it is, vegetarian chili with a slight modification. The recipe would be great without the turkey, but it was also just the thing to bring some flavor to otherwise bland ground turkey.

We loved this chili! It tastes great and it was so easy to make it in the slow cooker.  Plus, it made a lot so I have leftovers in the freezer. I served it over some cooked pasta and it was a delicious winter meal. I even had some Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins in the freezer to serve along side the chili.  Get the recipe here on Happy Tummy’s blog!

veggiechiliturkey

Check out this can strainer. It comes in so handy for draining and rinsing beans. Just open the can, hold the strainer over the top and drain away! It works great for cans of tuna too.

canstrainer2

5 comments

  1. Sounds great! I’ve been craving chili lately with all the cold weather. And I really like turkey in my chili!


  2. awww–i’m so glad you tried it and liked it! it looks fantastic with the pasta, i must say. my husband would love it with ground turkey in it, and i definitely i think i’ll try that next time. good to know it still worked in the slow cooker–it does make making chili much easier, doensn’t it? 🙂


  3. Shoot, now I want some chili! Yours looks really good, especially over that pasta – Cincinnati style.
    Nancy


  4. I like this chili ! and the strainer is great !


  5. Oh, yes, these will be in my regular rotation. Stunning photo of that nice tall stack of cookies.



Thoughts?