h1

Tuesdays with Dorie: Cranberry Lime Galette

November 16, 2010

This week’s recipe for the Tuesdays with Dorie bakers is Cranberry Lime Galette, selected by the ladies of Celestial Confections. What’s a galette? I would describe it as a free-form pie: pie dough is rolled out on a baking sheet, filling is added to the center, and the edge of the dough is folded over to hold in the filling.


What I did: I had  a little bit of Good for Almost Anything Pie Crust in the freezer, so I pulled it out and made a mini-galette. I made 1/2 of the recipe for the filling (minus the ginger) and had a little left over, which I baked in a ramekin.


How it went: I recommend having pie crust dough in the freezer, because with that part ready to go, this was really quick! The filling of cranberries, apples, brown sugar, lime zest, and lime juice was quick to mix up. It didn’t look that lovely after baking, because some of the liquid escaped at a low spot in the crust. Oh well. I wasn’t planning to enter it in a beauty contest!

How it tasted: The lime took this beyond being just another cranberry dessert. As Emeril would say, it kicked it up a notch! It was a great combination of flavors, and yet another way to enjoy Dorie’s delicious pie crust. I love fat free Cool Whip, and a generous dollop on top of my serving was a great addition. My husband, who is not a cranberry lover, thought this was really good; he said that the apples and “goo” were a good compliment to the tart cranberries. He also really enjoyed the crust. I also made this pie and this torte with the same batch of pie crust dough, and all three were delicious.

Ready to give this a try? Look on page 364 of Baking: From My Home to Yours, or click over to Celestial Confections; they’ll l have the recipe published today.

13 comments

  1. I loved the flavours in this too – I used raspberries instead of cranberries, but it still had that sweet and sour zing.


  2. What a great way to use cranberries! I think pie dough and puff pastry are my 2 favorite things to have in the freezer.


  3. You are totally right..everyone should have Dorie’s pie crust recipe made in the freezer for baking emergencies :).


  4. nice job! the cream would be a great addition on top i bet.


  5. I completely agree – having the pie dough ready and waiting makes this a really quick and easy, yet still impressive dessert. I was afraid of tartness so I used mostly apples in mine, but I hope to make the cranberry version soon. Yours look terrific!


  6. I enjoyed the convenience of having pie dough in the freezer too. It is a good thing to keep on hand.


  7. This looks sooo much better than mine did! I’m going to take your advice about keeping the crust in the freezer…I think that would have made a big difference!


  8. Those are either super huge cranberries or your galette is really that small 😉 I think your mini-g looks great! I want to scoop off some whipped cream with my finger 😀


    • I’m not a fan of cranberries, but the lime in this recipe really intrigues me. I might just give it a try!


  9. This is so cute…and I like the ramekin version as well. Has been a busy week around here and I have not gotten to this yet, which means I might not, but maybe I should make a little mini one…that looks so good.


  10. AS long as it tastes good….

    And yes, if you have pie dough in the chill chest this is super quick. And super tasty.


  11. I really liked this one, course, I added chocolate.


  12. Your galette looks absolutely beautiful. I skipped this one-cranberry tends not to be a big hit in house…even though I adore cranberry lime soda……



Comments are closed.