h1

TwD Baking with Julia: Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

November 6, 2012

Muffins were on deck for the Tuesdays with Dorie group this week. As much as I love a challenge in the kitchen, I also appreciate a simple muffin recipe that’s quick to mix and doesn’t make a lot of dishes. This recipe fit the bill! I made them late in the morning and we enjoyed them for an afternoon snack.

I made 1/2 recipe which gave me 8 muffins, though I should have made 9. The muffins overflowed a bit and the crumb topping glued itself to the muffin pan, making them a bit difficult to get remove from the pan. Once they were out, they were tasty – sweet, crunchy crumb topping on top of a tender muffin flavored with cinnamon and nutmeg. They were best the day they were baked, and still really good the next day.

Tip: I had some buttermilk in the freezer that I defrosted for this recipe, and it worked great. It seems that I always need less buttermilk than I need to buy, so last time I had extra, I froze it in 1/2 cup portions. David Lebovitz recently wrote a post about freezing cream, and I’m going to try that next. Update: I tried it and it worked! The frozen, defrosted cream whipped up nicely. It will be great to have cream in the freezer for those times I need just a little bit.

Ready for a quick, nicely spiced muffin? You can find the recipe on page 207 of Baking with Julia. Thank you to Alisa from Easier than Pie for hosting this week. She has the recipe posted on her blog today.

6 comments

  1. Your muffin looks absolutely delicious Jill. I am interested in freezing cream – I often end up tossing it out because I don’t need a whole carton and I don’t use much of it.


  2. I love simple muffin recipes too, and sometimes I freeze them so my husband can take them to work later. But I’ve never thought of freezing buttermilk (and yes, I ALWAYS have leftover buttermilk). Thanks for the link – I’d love to see what he suggests.


  3. Your muffins look delicious and I’m so excited about the idea of freezing buttermilk. I never know what to do with it once I buy it for a recipe and there’s a bunch left over. Great idea!


  4. I read that blog post about freezing cream and I want to try it too. So happy when I finally learned to freeze buttermilk instead of wasting the last cup every time!


  5. Love your tip about freezing the buttermilk in small portion sizes.


  6. What a great tip to freeze buttermilk! Those muffins look delicious!



Comments are closed.